Northampton – Sarah Taylor showed why she is currently one of the finest wicket-keepers in world cricket. Playing for England, she stalked and swopped on the West Indies batters at the County Ground.
In the second of three matches vs. the West Indies Sarah recorded her 51 international T20 stumping.
With the West Indies on 125-7, Natalie Sciver bowled to Chinelle Henry. Henry’s bat swirled and swished and missed the ball. Instead, it nestled in Sarah’s gloves. Stalking, the unbalanced batter, Sarah waited, and then waited some more, before the forces of nature compelled Henry to lift her rear foot. Sarah pounced and cheekily removed the bails. Adding yet another stumping to her already impressive showreel.
Sarah also started social media chatter over the whys and wherefores of a possible run out.
Stafanie Taylor dabbed an attempted yorker towards the slips area. Sarah sprinted to her right, removing her glove, she swooped onto the ball and threw. In the rush to save herself, the batter dropped her bat just before the ball crashed into the stumps from Sarah’s direct throw. There was a wait for the decision from the third umpire. The call was not out.
Then came the comments and opinions on social media. Was Stafanie Taylor out or not out? Cricket can be cruel. Skill and brilliance are not always rewarded.
England went on to win by 42 runs.
(Sarah Taylor Latest PMG News (PhoenixMedia Image Created from a Photo by Paul Harding/Getty Images)